Disruptions


Recently I’ve spent hours trying to egg my mind on into something great. I set it down and forgot about it for a few hours, and it hatched this. What an unforgiving bastard.

 

Disruptions

 

The cell phone Worms against the hard wood

Recreating the dull buzz of an electric razor.

 

My  systems notify me,

As music swims through my ear,

Of distant contact

 

It sounds like someone dropped

A penny in a pond, producing a ripple

 

Then I respond,

Fingers meet the buttons.

Each offering slight terse noise

To small swift strokes,

 

Reminiscent of a tap dancer

Pounding the floor

With some angry, visceral elegance

 

I probably lost long ago

Amidst the alarm each morning

Ringing like an earthquake.

 

~Austin R Ryan

Leave a Reply

